DocTable

Best Free Alternatives to Nanonets and Docsumo for Small Teams (2026)

Updated October 2026 · prices checked October 2026

If you only need documents turned into spreadsheets, DocTable is our pick for small teams: 3 free pages, then $3 for 20 pages with no subscription; we make it, so weigh that. Veryfi has a free plan of 100 documents a month for developers, DocuClipper suits bookkeeping, and Nanonets and Docsumo remain better if you need custom models and workflows.

Your first 3 pages are free — scan and download, no card needed. After that, $3 buys 20 pages (one-time, no subscription).

Upload a file

Comparison table

ToolPrice (entry plan)Free tier?Reads photos/scans or PDF only?Arabic/PersianAPI
DocTableFirst 3 pages free; then $3 for 20 pages (one-time, no subscription)Yes: 3 pages incl. download; first page needs no accountPhotos, scans and PDFs (up to 500 pages per file)Arabic, Persian and mixed-scriptYes (API + MCP server)
Veryfi (source source)Starter from $500+/month; $0.25 per bank statementYes: Free plan, up to 100 docs/monthPDF stated; photos not statedClaims “any language”; no list publishedYes (all plans)
Mindee (source)Starter 44/month (529/yr); Pro 116/month; no currency symbol shown14-day free trial; number of free pages not publishedNot stated on the pricing pageNot publishedYes: full API on every plan
DocuClipper (source)Starter $20.30/month (annual billing), 60 pages/month14-day trial, up to 120 pages, no cardOCR for invoices, receipts, checks; phone photos not statedNot publishedYes, on every paid plan
Nanonets (source)Starter: $50 free credits, then $100/month for 100 creditsYes: $50 in credits, no card requiredNot stated on the pricing pageNot published on the pricing pageYes (listed on Starter)
Docsumo (source)Business and Enterprise by custom quote; amounts not published14-day trial, up to 1,000 pagesNot stated on the pricing pageNot publishedYes: API and webhooks on every plan

“Not published” or “not stated” means the vendor page we read does not say. Each tool links to the page the facts came from.

The tools, in order

1. DocTable

DocTable is a self-serve web app: drop in a photo, scan or PDF (up to 500 pages per file) and get an Excel or Word file. Your first 3 pages are free including the download, no card needed; after that $3 buys 20 pages, one-time, no subscription. It has an API and MCP server. The honest limits: no custom-trained models, no workflow builder, no SOC 2 report and no uptime SLA. If you need those, the platforms below are the better fit.

2. Veryfi

Veryfi is developer-first: its Free plan covers up to 100 documents a month with the API and SDKs, and on the Starter plan bank statements are $0.25 each (receipts $0.08, invoices $0.16). The Starter base fee is a $500 monthly minimum, so it only makes sense at business volume. Its bank-statement page says it reads a statement PDF; it does not list supported languages, only that it works across any geography and language.

Sources: source source. Prices and features checked October 2026.

3. Mindee

Mindee sells document-extraction APIs priced in credits: one page is one credit, or 1.5 with a confidence score, and the 6,000-credit Starter tier works out to roughly 0.044 per credit. There is no permanent free tier, only a 14-day trial. The pricing page shows no currency symbol on the plan prices, so we quote the numbers as shown. A good fit for developers who want predictable per-page API costs.

Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.

4. DocuClipper

DocuClipper is built for bookkeepers: bank statements, invoices and receipts into QuickBooks, Xero or Excel, with plans from $20.30 a month on annual billing for 60 pages. Unused pages do not roll over, and there is no permanent free tier. If you do client bookkeeping every month and want accounting-software exports, it is more specialised than DocTable and the better choice. If you have a one-off pile of documents, a monthly plan is a poor fit.

Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.

5. Nanonets

Nanonets is an intelligent document processing platform: custom-trained models, workflows and integrations, with data residency options in the US, EU and APAC. If you need to train on your own document types or wire extraction into approval flows, it does things DocTable does not. The Starter plan is free to begin with $50 of credits and no card. The pricing page does not say what one credit buys in pages, so we cannot give a per-page figure.

Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.

6. Docsumo

Docsumo is aimed at finance and operations teams with a lot of document volume. Its free option is generous but time-limited (14 days, up to 1,000 pages), and paid plans are quoted per volume, so you cannot see the price without talking to sales. API and webhook access is included on every plan. Pick it when you expect to process thousands of pages and want a vendor relationship, not a pay-as-you-go pack.

Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.

How we compared

We started with the two platforms in the title, then added tools small teams actually compare them with. Each fact comes from the vendor's own pricing page, read in October 2026; what is not published is marked not published. We did not run a shared accuracy test. Nanonets and Docsumo are included because for some jobs they are the right answer, and we say where. DocTable is our product and is listed first for that reason.

Related pages

Temporary processing — files are not archived. Always verify OCR output before financial or legal use. Vendor names and prices belong to their owners and can change; check the linked page before you buy.