DocTable
Best Image to Excel Converters in 2026
For a photo or scan of a table, DocTable is our pick when the document has no text layer or is in Arabic or Persian; we make it, so weigh that. If you already have Microsoft 365 and the picture is a clean English table, Excel's built-in Data from Picture costs nothing extra. For developers, Veryfi, Mindee and Nanonets sell APIs.
Your first 3 pages are free — scan and download, no card needed. After that, $3 buys 20 pages (one-time, no subscription).
Comparison table
| Tool | Price (entry plan) | Free tier? | Reads photos/scans or PDF only? | Arabic/Persian | API |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DocTable | First 3 pages free; then $3 for 20 pages (one-time, no subscription) | Yes: 3 pages incl. download; first page needs no account | Photos, scans and PDFs (up to 500 pages per file) | Arabic, Persian and mixed-script | Yes (API + MCP server) |
| Microsoft Excel: Data from Picture (source) | No separate price on the support page (Excel for Microsoft 365) | Not applicable: part of Excel | Picture file, clipboard image, or phone camera (mobile) | Not supported: Arabic and Persian are not among the listed character sets | No |
| ABBYY FineReader PDF (source source) | $99/yr Standard, $165/yr Corporate (Windows); $69/yr Mac | 7-day trial, no payment required | Not stated on the pricing page | Arabic (Saudi Arabia) listed; Persian not in the list | Not published for the desktop product |
| Nanonets (source) | Starter: $50 free credits, then $100/month for 100 credits | Yes: $50 in credits, no card required | Not stated on the pricing page | Not published on the pricing page | Yes (listed on Starter) |
| Veryfi (source source) | Starter from $500+/month; $0.25 per bank statement | Yes: Free plan, up to 100 docs/month | PDF stated; photos not stated | Claims “any language”; no list published | Yes (all plans) |
| Mindee (source) | Starter 44/month (529/yr); Pro 116/month; no currency symbol shown | 14-day free trial; number of free pages not published | Not stated on the pricing page | Not published | Yes: full API on every plan |
“Not published” or “not stated” means the vendor page we read does not say. Each tool links to the page the facts came from.
The tools, in order
1. DocTable
DocTable turns photos, scans and PDFs (up to 500 pages per file) into a real Excel or Word file, and it works on documents with no text layer. Your first 3 pages are free including the download; after that $3 buys 20 pages, one-time. It has an API and an MCP server for automation. The honest limits: no custom models or workflows, and the smallest pack costs $0.15 per page.
2. Microsoft Excel: Data from Picture
If you already pay for Microsoft 365 and your source is a clean, cropped, head-on picture of a table in English, German, French, Spanish and other listed Latin-script languages, Excel's built-in Data > From Picture is convenient and costs no extra. Microsoft's page lists the supported character sets, and Arabic and Persian are not among them. It handles one picture at a time and asks you to crop to the data.
Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.
3. ABBYY FineReader PDF
FineReader is a long-established desktop OCR suite, and for offline work on a Windows PC it is hard to beat: nothing is uploaded, and you edit the result in a full PDF editor. Its published OCR language list includes Arabic (Saudi Arabia) but not Persian. ABBYY's own support pages say Farsi is available in its server and SDK products rather than the desktop app. It is an annual subscription, so it suits people who scan every week more than people with one folder of documents.
Sources: source source. Prices and features checked October 2026.
4. Nanonets
Nanonets is an intelligent document processing platform: custom-trained models, workflows and integrations, with data residency options in the US, EU and APAC. If you need to train on your own document types or wire extraction into approval flows, it does things DocTable does not. The Starter plan is free to begin with $50 of credits and no card. The pricing page does not say what one credit buys in pages, so we cannot give a per-page figure.
Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.
5. Veryfi
Veryfi is developer-first: its Free plan covers up to 100 documents a month with the API and SDKs, and on the Starter plan bank statements are $0.25 each (receipts $0.08, invoices $0.16). The Starter base fee is a $500 monthly minimum, so it only makes sense at business volume. Its bank-statement page says it reads a statement PDF; it does not list supported languages, only that it works across any geography and language.
Sources: source source. Prices and features checked October 2026.
6. Mindee
Mindee sells document-extraction APIs priced in credits: one page is one credit, or 1.5 with a confidence score, and the 6,000-credit Starter tier works out to roughly 0.044 per credit. There is no permanent free tier, only a 14-day trial. The pricing page shows no currency symbol on the plan prices, so we quote the numbers as shown. A good fit for developers who want predictable per-page API costs.
Sources: source. Prices and features checked October 2026.
How we compared
We picked tools that turn an image or scan into spreadsheet data, then read each vendor's own pricing and documentation page in October 2026. Anything a vendor does not publish is marked as not published. We did not run a shared accuracy test, so the order reflects fit: tools that give a finished file first, API platforms after. DocTable is our product and is listed first for that reason.
Related pages
Temporary processing — files are not archived. Always verify OCR output before financial or legal use. Vendor names and prices belong to their owners and can change; check the linked page before you buy.